Daughter of Smoke and Bone Review

Title: Daughter of Smoke and Bone

Author: Laini Taylor

Number of Pages: 418 pages

Date Published: September 27th 2011

Publishing Company: Little Brown Books for Young Readers

Books Number in Series: Daughter of Smoke and Bone, 1

 “Once upon a time, an angel and a devil fell in love.

It did not end well.”

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It is a strong love story very much like Romeo and Juliet, which many who read this book think of. Laini Taylor brought this fantasy love story to life with her amazing writing. The story is about Karou who’s an artist in Prague. Blue hair, tattoos and a best friend that every teenage girl wants.

Picture3 Picture1

Oh, and did I forget to mention? Sometimes, in her free time, Karou does these secret deals with the devil. Except the devil creatures are the ones who raised her. (In this amazing world, there are coins in which wishes can be made with.) Karou’s smart and she knows they are hiding something from her. There are secrets. To complicate her life, Akiva, an angel shows up with a possible answer to everything.

Holy, this book was fantastic!

Picture2

Now that I got that out of my system. Shall we continue to my review of this book?

The characters were all so amazing! There are funny characters, headstrong characters, cool characters, caring characters, and unique creature characters. Just to give you a sense of some of these, let’s start with our heroine Karou. Karou is beautiful, charming, witty and she has killer moves! This girl can kill you.

“A hand came down on her shoulder, and she was all nerve and impulse. She seized the hand and threw her weight forward. The figure behind her was lifted-Karou registered a second too late the voice, concerned, saying, “Jesus, Roo, are you okay?”-to catapult over her shoulder and through the plate glass of the door.”

I love Karou because she is one of those characters who doesn’t need a guy to save them. However, sometimes, she does seem too perfect.

“She was a shining beauty, lithe and vivid, though surely this wasn’t what intrigued him.”

Karou, is pretty, good as art, has amazing friends, an awesome family of cool creatures, and she is what that quote just says about her. A perfect character is very unnatural and hard to connect with. Besides that, I really loved her and another character. Karou’s bestie or known as the ultimate BFF, Zuzana a.k.a. ZuZu. Zuzana is so funny, and in the darkness of Karou’s world she brings in a lot more comical sense to the whole book.

“Hey! My body may be small, but my soul is large. It’s why I wear platforms. So I can reach the top of my soul.”

I constantly find myself laughing because of ZuZu. How can you not? Her little story in the book is also amusing because she has a crush on the violin guy, Mik. Their conversations progress into the funniest thoughts!

mik_and_zuzana___daughter_of_smoke_and_bone_by_krystal91-d6vv47t

The plot starts off really strong. 99% of books I read start off slow. By the time I’m in the middle and things start to kick off, I’m almost dying of boredom. This book really kicks off on the first page, when Karou’s ex, Kaz, shows up and she tells him off. Then this happens:

An unveiling, he had said. Oh, how clever. She lifted her gaze from her pencil and took in the sight of Kaz standing beside Profesorka Fiala. He was barefoot and wearing a robe, and his shoulder-length golden hair, which has minutes before been wind-teased and sparkling with snowflakes, was pulled back in a ponytail.”

In case it’s unclear, her ex-boyfriend is going to be naked in front of her whole class because they are sketching nudes of live models. Yeah, that’s right. My attention was like this:

I was a bit disappointed when the plot kind of swiveled downwards in the middle. With Karou trying to figure out who she was with Akiva, there really isn’t action or suspense. I know that there was a huge twist in the story, which I can’t say; personally, I didn’t  find it surprising or refreshing. All of Akiva’s subtle hints gave it away. So much for a surprise. Ugh…

I HAVE to mention how Laini’s writing is so magnificent! Her writing is so descriptive. She could write a grocery list and I would pay to own it and read it. There are similes and it’s so hard to describe, but when the writing is this good, everything is just enhanced. It’s a huge reason for why I enjoyed this book. I give up on trying to describe her writing. I will just show you:

“She cocked her head to one side, a quizzical, bird like gesture that spoke not of savagery, but curiosity.”

Doesn’t that just make you picture her head abruptly moving? It literally puts the image in my head with every single movement and detail.

This book has the some of the funniest characters and the most amazing writing ever. If you like fantasy books, you will love this one! There’s no book I can compare it to, so if you like the sound of this book so far, go and read it! I was disappointed with the plot which brought the rating down, but a fun treat nonetheless.

Picture1

3 out of 5 cups of tea

The perfect tea to go with this book (you can get anything similar or this exact product at Teavana):

image

Chocolate Banana Foster Herbal Tea just reminds me of what Karou and Zuzu would get at the pub they go to together.

Leave a Reply

